An afternoon stroll through Charleston, South Carolina

After exploring three great cities in the USA north east, the road trip continued south to two cities I was very excited to visit! First up, lovely Charleston, South Carolina, voted #1 city in the U.S. by Conde Nast readers four years in a row.  Walking through the downtown historic area is like being transported back in time.  The streets are small and cobbled, the homes are pastel perfect, and the locals exude southern style.

Since one of the themes of this road trip is exploring the great microbreweries of the US, our first stop was to sample a beer flight and check out the space at Palmetto Brewery, the oldest brewery in South Carolina.  Beyond the wide range of great beer, you can find awesome events here like their free weekly Friday night Loading Dock Concert Series featuring local bands and food trucks.

interior of brewery with kegs and a bottle chandelier

Palmetto Brewery

Next up lunch at Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, housed in the historic downtown Wagener Building and reputed to be haunted by the cotton merchant who took his own life on the third floor of the building in the 1800s.  While I can’t report any ghost sightings, I can tell you that the smoked half chicken with slaw, beans and fries for $14.95 was delicious!  I also loved their seasonal brew infused with coriander, ginger and lemongrass.

One of the best things to do in any city is to wander the streets aimlessly taking it all in, and Charleston is perfect for this. We looked at the beautiful homes and shops, the spooky graveyards and old churches, and of course the lovely waterfront district.  We also stopped by the historic Charleston City Market, which was very crowded on a Saturday afternoon!  

Next time I would love to visit the many islands around this city, which are full of beaches, parks, wildlife and farms. A little further out, Kiawah Island has been beautifully photographed by Tina and remains on my bucket list.  If you are spending some time in Charleston I recommend adding this to your itinerary.  

Have you visited Charleston? What was your favourite spot or attraction?

9 thoughts on “An afternoon stroll through Charleston, South Carolina

  1. Great post! My family has a house in South Carolina and I’m hoping to make it down there by September! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    Like

    • I really hope that you make it down! It’s such a lovely place and lots of things to check out in the area like the islands, Savannah, and probably more I don’t even know about!

      Like

  2. Well for heaven’s sake, you need to let me know you’re coming so I can host you for a tour of Kiawah!! And you our hottest, best beer haunt, Edmund’s Oast, so you HAVE to come back! Thanks for the shout-out!

    Like

    • I absolutely will come back! I’d love to spend more time in the Charleston area — it’s so beautiful and charming, but we only got a brief peek. Next time I will give you a heads up 🙂

      Like

  3. Great post! I haven’t been but now I really want to go! Sounds like you’re having a grand time. Look forward to your next post.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Something a little surprising about Savannah, Georgia | MyTorontoLife

  5. Pingback: What I learned travelling through 24 states in 31 days | MyTorontoLife

Leave a Reply

